Photo of Politician Josh


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Fremantle, Western Australia, 2016. Resigned 10.5.2018. Elected to the House of Representatives for Fremantle, Western Australia at by-election 2018, vice J Wilson (resigned). Re-elected 2019.
Committee service
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 1.9.2016 to 10.5.2018; National Broadband Network from 10.10.2016 to 10.5.2018 (Deputy Chair from 13.10.2016 to 10.5.2018); National Broadband Network from 10.9.2018 to 1.7.2019 (Deputy Chair from 12.9.2018 to 1.7.2019); Treaties from 10.9.2018.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Economics from 7.12.2017 to 10.5.2018; Economics from 10.9.2018 to 11.4.2019; Environment and Energy from 22.7.2019 (Deputy Chair from 24.7.2019).
  • House of Representatives Select: Regional Australia from 29.7.2019.
Conferences, delegations and visits
  • Delegate in the 45th Parliament to the Inter-Parliamentary Union: co-rapporteur in the Committee on Finance, Trade and Sustainable Development; member of the Committee to Promote Respect for International Humanitarian Law.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Assistant Minister for the Environment from 2.6.2019.
  • Born 5.6.1972, London, England
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA(Hons) (University of Western Australia).
  • MA(Hons) (University of Melbourne).
  • Freelance writer and photographer from 1995 to 2009.
  • Paralegal, Phillips Fox from 1996 to 1998.
  • Paralegal, Blake Dawson Waldron from 1998 to 2004.
  • Associate Lecturer, Curtin University from 2001 to 2009.
  • Media Advisor, Hon. Carmen Lawrence from 2004 to 2007.
  • Chief of Staff, Hon. Melissa Parke MP from 2007 to 2016.
Local government service
  • Councillor, City of Fremantle from 2009 to 2016.
  • Deputy Mayor, City of Fremantle from 2011 to 2016.
  • Name: Fremantle
  • Location: Fremantle covers the Cities of Cockburn, Fremantle and Melville (part) and the town of East Fremantle. It is situated south west of Perth and includes Rottnest Island. The suburbs include Atwell, Aubin Grove, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Coolbellup, Coogee, Cockburn Central, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hammond Park, Henderson, Hilton, Jandakot, Kardinya (part), Leeming (part), Munster, North Coogee, North Fremantle, North Lake, O'Connor, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley and Yangebup.
  • Area: 196 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 105,465 (at 6.6.2019)
  • Industries: Industries include retail, commercial, manufacturing, medical, education, professional services, hospitality, tourism and fishing.

Date Proposed Bill Title
Sponsored Bills Policy Area
Date Sponsored Date Proposed Bill Title
Cosponsored Bills Policy Area
Position Date From Date to District Branch Party State
Fremantle House of Representatives Western Australia
Introduced House
Passed House
Introduced Senate
Passed Senate
To President
Became Law
Vote Date Vote Bill Title
Name Position Date Joined Branch
Politician Party Purpose Type Date Amount
Type Address
Capitol Telephone (02) 6277 2081
Capitol Fax (02) 6277 8437
Electorate Telephone (08)9335 8555
Electorate Fax (08) 9336 1059
Web Capitol