Photo of Politician Mark


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Port Adelaide, South Australia, 2007. Re-elected 2010, 2013, 2016. Elected to the House of Representatives for Hindmarsh, South Australia, following electoral redistribution, 2019.
Ministerial appointments
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Health from 9.6.2009 to 14.9.2010.
  • Minister for Mental Health and Ageing from 14.9.2010 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Mental Health Reform from 12.9.2011 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister for Social Inclusion from 14.12.2011 to 1.7.2013.
  • Cabinet Minister from 14.12.2011 to 18.9.2013.
  • Minister for Housing and Homelessness from 4.2.2013 to 1.7.2013.
  • Minister for Climate Change from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
  • Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Water from 1.7.2013 to 18.9.2013.
Committee service
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 18.2.2008 to 15.6.2009; Public Works from 18.2.2008 to 15.6.2009.
  • Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library (formerly Library) from 18.2.2008 to 9.6.2009.
  • House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 19.2.2008 to 15.6.2009; Environment from 4.12.2013 to 9.5.2016.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Shadow Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water from 18.10.2013 to 23.7.2016.
  • Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy from 23.7.2016.
  • Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House from 2.6.2019.
Party positions
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party State Conference (SA) from 1993.
  • President of the Australian Labor Party State Branch (SA) from 1997 to 1998.
  • Delegate to the Australian Labor Party National Conference from 1998.
  • Member of the Australian Labor Party National Executive from 2000.
  • Born 8.7.1970, Canberra, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB(Hons) (University of Adelaide).
  • MIR (Deakin University).
  • BA(Juris) (University of Adelaide).
  • Union official 1992-2007.
  • Name: Hindmarsh
  • Location: The Division of Hindmarsh consists of: part of the City of Charles Sturt, part of the City of Port Adelaide Enfield, and part of the City of West Torrens.
  • Area: 122 Sq km
  • Electors enrolled: 122,645 (at 6.6.2019)
  • Industries: Aviation, cement, commercial fishing, electricity generation, flour mills, grain bulk handling, heavy engineering, major retailing, manufacturing industry, motion picture production, numerous sporting venues, petroleum storage, police academy, shipping, small industries, stevedoring, tourism, warship & submarine construction, waste disposal and wool stores.
  • Awarded Centenary Medal, 01.01.2001.

Date Proposed Bill Title
Sponsored Bills Policy Area
Date Sponsored Date Proposed Bill Title
Cosponsored Bills Policy Area
Position Date From Date to District Branch Party State
Port Adelaide House of Representatives South Australia
Hindmarsh House of Representatives South Australia
Introduced House
Passed House
Introduced Senate
Passed Senate
To President
Became Law
Vote Date Vote Bill Title
Name Position Date Joined Branch
Politician Party Purpose Type Date Amount
Type Address
Capitol Telephone (02) 6277 4089
Capitol Fax (02) 6277 2222
Electorate Telephone (08) 8241 0190
Electorate Fax (08) 8241 0198