Photo of Politician Julie


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the House of Representatives for Curtin, Western Australia, 1998, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Minister for Ageing from 7.10.03 to 27.1.06.
  • Minister for Education, Science and Training from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Women's Issues from 27.1.06 to 3.12.07.
  • Minister for Foreign Affairs from 18.9.13.
Committee service
  • House of Representatives Standing: Legal and Constitutional Affairs from 8.12.98 to 6.11.03; Privileges (nominee of the Leader of the House) from 6.2.01 to 8.10.01; Economics from 25.9.08 to 25.2.09.
  • Joint Statutory: Corporations and Securities from 9.12.98 to 11.2.02.
  • Joint Standing: Treaties from 20.3.02 (Chair from 21.3.02) to 4.11.03; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade from 10.3.09 to 5.8.13.
  • Joint Select: Republic Referendum from 2.6.99 to 9.8.99.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Member, Opposition Shadow Ministry from 6.12.07 to 18.9.13. Shadow Minister for Employment, Business and Workplace Relations from 6.12.07 to 22.9.08; Shadow Treasurer from 22.9.08 to 16.2.09; Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs from 16.2.09 to 18.9.13; Shadow Minister for Trade from 14.9.10 to 18.9.13.
  • Deputy Leader of the Federal Parliamentary Liberal Party from 29.11.07.
  • Deputy Leader of the Opposition from 3.12.07 to 18.9.13.
Party positions
  • Branch President, Liberal Party Perth Central Branch (Perth Division) 1992-97.
  • Senior Vice-President, Liberal Party Perth Central Branch (Perth Division) 1997-98.
  • Vice-President, Liberal Party Claremont Branch (Curtin Division) 1998-2002.
  • Member, Liberal Party Crawley Branch (Curtin Division) from 2002.
  • Born 17.7.1956, Lobethal, SA.
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • LLB (Adel).
  • Advanced Management Program (Senior Managers) (Harvard Business School).
  • Barrister and solicitor 1979-98.
  • Managing partner, Clayton Utz, Perth, WA 1994-98.
  • Chair, Town Planning Appeal Tribunal of WA 1994-98.
  • Senate Member, Murdoch University 1997-98.
  • Director, Special Broadcasting Services Television 1997-98.
  • Director and Fellow, Australian Institute of Management 1997-98.
    Description: inner metropolitan.

    Location: western Perth; it includes the suburbs of Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Dalkeith, Daglish, Floreat, Glendalough, Jolimont, Leederville, Mosman Park, Mount Claremont, Mount Hawthorn, Nedlands, Peppermint Grove, Shenton Park, Subiaco, Swanbourne, Wembley, Wembley Downs, West Leederville and Woodlands, and parts of Doubleview, North Perth, Osborne Park, Scarborough and West Perth.

    Area: 98 sq km.
    Electors enrolled: 97 534 (at 2.7.16).
    Industries: recreational, light retail and hospitality. The electorate also includes the University of Western Australia.

    State electorates: Curtin includes the Western Australian Legislative Assembly electorates of Churchlands and Nedlands, and parts of Cottesloe, Perth and Scarborough.

Date Proposed Bill Title
Sponsored Bills Policy Area
Date Sponsored Date Proposed Bill Title
Cosponsored Bills Policy Area
Position Date From Date to District Branch Party State
Curtin House of Representatives Western Australia
Introduced House
Passed House
Introduced Senate
Passed Senate
To President
Became Law
Vote Date Vote Bill Title
Name Position Date Joined Branch
Politician Party Purpose Type Date Amount
Type Address
Capitol Telephone (02) 6277 7500
Capitol Fax (02) 6273 4112
Electorate Telephone (08) 9388 0288
Electorate Fax (08) 9388 0299