Photo of Politician Jonathon


Parliamentary service
  • Elected to the Senate for Tasmania 2016.
Ministerial appointments
  • Assistant Minister for Forestry and Fisheries from 29.5.2019.
  • Assistant Minister for Regional Tourism from 29.5.2019.
Committee service
  • Senate Standing: Scrutiny of Bills from 1.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Publications from 12.9.2016 to 5.2.2018; Procedure from 13.2.2019; Appropriations, Staffing and Security from 2.7.2019.
  • Senate Select: Resilience of Electricity Infrastructure in a Warming World from 24.11.2016 to 7.4.2017; Strengthening Multiculturalism from 1.12.2016 to 17.8.2017; Future of Public Interest Journalism from 11.5.2017 to 5.2.2018.
  • Senate Legislative and General Purpose Standing: Community Affairs: Legislation from 1.9.2016 to 27.6.2018 (Chair from 1.9.2016 to 21.8.2017); Community Affairs: References from 1.9.2016 to 27.6.2018; Environment and Communications: Legislation from 1.9.2016 to 1.7.2019 (Chair from 21.8.2017 to 1.7.2019); Environment and Communications: References from 1.9.2016 to 1.7.2019; Foreign Affairs, Defence and Trade: Legislation from 13.2.2019 to 25.2.2019.
  • Joint Statutory: Public Accounts and Audit from 12.9.2016 to 28.11.2016.
  • Joint Standing: Parliamentary Library (formerly Library) from 12.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; National Capital and External Territories from 12.9.2016 to 11.4.2019; National Disability Insurance Scheme from 12.9.2016 to 3.4.2019.
  • Joint Select: Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse from 22.6.2017 to 15.12.2017; Constitutional Recognition Relating to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples (2018) from 22.3.2018 to 29.11.2018.
Parliamentary party positions
  • Government Deputy Whip in the Senate from 12.2.2019 to 2.7.2019.
  • Deputy Manager of Government Business in the Senate from 2.7.2019.
Party positions
  • Officeholder of the Southern Young Liberals Bellerive and Western Franklin Branches.
  • Delegate to the Liberal Party State Council (Tas.).
  • Officeholder of the Liberal Party Franklin Branch.
  • Member of the Liberal Party (Tas.) from 2001.
  • Vice-President of the Liberal Party Franklin Branch from 2008 to 2009.
  • Member of the Liberal Party Constitutional Review Committee from 2009 to 2011.
  • Born 31.12.1982, Launceston, Australia
  • Married
Qualifications and occupation before entering Federal Parliament
  • BA (University of Tasmania).
  • LLB (University of Tasmania).
  • Electorate Officer, Senator the Hon. P Calvert, 2003-05.
  • Adviser, Senator the Hon. E Abetz, 2005-09.
  • Chief of Staff, Senator the Hon. S Parry, 2009-10.
  • Deputy Chief of Staff, Leader of the Opposition (Tas.) the Hon. WEF Hodgman MP, 2010-14.
  • Deputy Chief of Staff, Premier of Tasmania the Hon. WEF Hodgman MP, 2014-16.

Date Proposed Bill Title
Sponsored Bills Policy Area
Date Sponsored Date Proposed Bill Title
Cosponsored Bills Policy Area
Position Date From Date to District Branch Party State
Senate Tasmania
Introduced House
Passed House
Introduced Senate
Passed Senate
To President
Became Law
Vote Date Vote Bill Title
Name Position Date Joined Branch
Politician Party Purpose Type Date Amount
Type Address
Capitol Telephone (02) 6277 3034
Capitol Fax (02) 6277 5709
Electorate Telephone (03) 6234 1471
Electorate Fax (03) 6231 4579