Introduced in House Passed House Introduced in Senate Passed Senate To President Became Law

Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.

Date Version PDF TXT
01/01/2111 Introduced in House Open
02/13/2020 Engrossed in House Open
01/17/2020 Reported in House Open
01/16/2020 Referred in Senate Open
11/09/2019 Introduced in House Open
11/08/2019 Reported in House Open


116 HJ 79 IH: Removing the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.
U.S. House of Representatives
Pursuant to Title 17 Section 105 of the United States Code, this file is not subject to copyright protection and is in the public domain.

IA116th CONGRESS1st SessionH. J. RES. 79IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVESNovember 8, 2019Ms. Speier (for herself, Mr. Nadler, Mrs. Carolyn B. Maloney of New York, Mr. Fitzpatrick, Mr. Reed, Mrs. Luria, Ms. Spanberger, Ms. Wexton, Mr. Beyer, Mr. Connolly, Mr. McEachin, Ms. Frankel, Mrs. Lawrence, Ms. Haaland, Ms. Escobar, Ms. Wasserman Schultz, Mr. Grijalva, Ms. Judy Chu of California, Ms. Plaskett, Mr. Carbajal, Ms. Schakowsky, Mr. Peters, Mr. Takano, Mr. Cohen, Ms. Norton, Mr. Ruiz, Miss Rice of New York, Mr. McNerney, Ms. DelBene, Mr. Foster, Mr. Engel, Mr. Aguilar, Ms. Lee of California, Ms. DeLauro, Mr. Khanna, Ms. Kaptur, Mr. Pocan, Ms. Matsui, Mr. Espaillat, Ms. DeGette, Mr. Richmond, Ms. Brownley of California, Mr. Ruppersberger, Mr. Moulton, Mr. Cooper, Mr. DeFazio, Mr. Thompson of Mississippi, Mr. Serrano, Mr. Hastings, Mr. Lowenthal, Mr. Sarbanes, Mrs. Torres of California, Mr. Cartwright, Mr. Vargas, Mr. Schrader, Mr. Welch, Mr. Price of North Carolina, Mr. Crist, Mr. Michael F. Doyle of Pennsylvania, Ms. Roybal-Allard, Mr. Yarmuth, Mr. Tonko, Ms. Clarke of New York, Ms. Pingree, Mr. Horsford, Mrs. Davis of California, Ms. Castor of Florida, Mr. Langevin, Mr. Thompson of California, Mr. Schiff, Ms. McCollum, Mr. Sean Patrick Maloney of New York, Mr. Cicilline, Mr. Loebsack, Ms. Gabbard, Mr. Swalwell of California, Mr. Huffman, Mr. Garamendi, Mr. Soto, Mr. Sires, Mr. Keating, Ms. Blunt Rochester, Ms. Kuster of New Hampshire, Mr. Rush, Ms. Jayapal, Ms. Wilson of Florida, Mr. Kilmer, Mr. Meeks, Mr. Clay, Ms. Bonamici, Ms. Waters, Mrs. Kirkpatrick, Mr. Lynch, Mrs. Dingell, Mr. Schneider, Ms. Pressley, Ms. Jackson Lee, Ms. Barragán, Mrs. Napolitano, Mr. Johnson of Georgia, Mrs. Watson Coleman, Mr. Levin of Michigan, Ms. Ocasio-Cortez, Mr. Carson of Indiana, Mr. Kind, Ms. Eshoo, Mr. Kildee, Mr. Cox of California, Mr. Gallego, Ms. Clark of Massachusetts, Ms. Fudge, Ms. Garcia of Texas, Mr. Sherman, Mr. Blumenauer, Mr. Quigley, Mr. Krishnamoorthi, Mr. Norcross, Mr. Courtney, Mr. Lawson of Florida, Mr. Pascrell, Mr. Pallone, Mr. Cárdenas, Mr. McGovern, Mr. Raskin, Ms. Omar, Ms. Sánchez, Mr. Perlmutter, Ms. Titus, Mrs. Trahan, Mr. Levin of California, Mr. Himes, Ms. Schrier, Mrs. Lowey, Mr. Larsen of Washington, Mr. Brendan F. Boyle of Pennsylvania, Ms. Adams, Mr. Case, Mr. Ted Lieu of California, Ms. Porter, Mrs. Bustos, Ms. Slotkin, Mr. García of Illinois, Mr. Gonzalez of Texas, Ms. Houlahan, Mr. Kennedy, Mr. Smith of Washington, Mr. DeSaulnier, Mr. Gomez, Mr. Morelle, Ms. Johnson of Texas, Mr. Cleaver, Mrs. Demings, Ms. Moore, Mr. Cisneros, Mr. Danny K. Davis of Illinois, Mr. Golden, Ms. Mucarsel-Powell, Mrs. Lee of Nevada, Mr. Suozzi, Mr. Cuellar, Ms. Velázquez, Ms. Sewell of Alabama, Mr. San Nicolas, Mr. Luján, Mr. Vela, Mr. Trone, Mr. Deutch, Ms. Craig, Mr. Crow, Mr. Rouda, Ms. Dean, Mr. Ryan, Mr. Casten of Illinois, Ms. Tlaib, Mr. Malinowski, Ms. Shalala, Ms. Scanlon, Mr. O'Halleran, Mr. Castro of Texas, Ms. Meng, Ms. Stevens, Mr. Phillips, Mr. Peterson, Ms. Bass, Ms. Underwood, Mrs. McBath, Mr. Stanton, Ms. Kelly of Illinois, Mr. Brown of Maryland, Mr. Jeffries, Mr. Cunningham, Ms. Sherrill, Mr. Gottheimer, Mr. Butterfield, Mr. Kim, Ms. Wild, Mr. Payne, Mrs. Beatty, Ms. Torres Small of New Mexico, Mr. Higgins of New York, Mrs. Hayes, Mr. Green of Texas, Mr. Van Drew, Mr. Evans, Mr. Larson of Connecticut, Mr. Bera, Mrs. Fletcher, Mr. Bishop of Georgia, Mrs. Murphy of Florida, Mr. Lewis, Mr. Rose of New York, Mr. Doggett, Mr. Heck, Mr. David Scott of Georgia, and Mr. Harder of California) submitted the following joint resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the JudiciaryJOINT RESOLUTIONRemoving the deadline for the ratification of the equal rights amendment.
That notwithstanding any time limit contained in House Joint Resolution 208, 92nd Congress, as agreed to in the Senate on March 22, 1972, the article of amendment proposed to the States in that joint resolution shall be valid to all intents and purposes as part of the Constitution whenever ratified by the legislatures of three-fourths of the several States.

Picture Name From Date Type
Jackie Speier D-CA 11/08/2019 Sponsor
Date Branch Action
Congress - Bill Number Major Title
Branch Vote Date Yes No Not Voting
House of Representatives 2/13/2020 11:19:00 AM 232 198 0
Date Bill Major Title
Committee Name
Subject Type